DataKitchen DataOps Documention

Merge Kitchens

Most child kitchens are temporary workspaces intended only for development work. When users complete that work, they can merge it to a parent kitchen. Behind the scenes, a kitchen merge is a merge of version control branches, but the platform makes the merge process simple for all users.

Users may only perform merges when they are part of the kitchen staff for the target kitchen of the merge.

Merge Down before Merging Up

The best practice is to merge changes down from the parent kitchen before merging changes up from the child kitchen to reduce merge conflicts.

Merge Parent Kitchen Down

  1. On the Kitchens page or in the green toolbar on any platform page, click the down arrow button associated with your child kitchen.
  1. The Merge Down page displays all modified files that will merge into the child kitchen. Click the See details link to open a sidebar with a summary of source kitchen updates.
  2. Click on a filename to view its content in the source parent kitchen, its content in the target child kitchen, and the preview of the merged file.
    • For each added, modified, and removed file, you can compare the versions between kitchens and view the results of the merge.
    • For each conflicted file, you can click the arrow buttons to (>>) use the changes from the source parent kitchen or (<<) retain the content in the target child kitchen.
  1. Resolve each conflicted file by clicking the Done button in the Merge Preview pane.
    To revert your conflict resolution, use the Undo button before clicking Done or the Undo Resolve link after clicking Done.
  2. When you have resolved all conflicts or if there are no conflicts, click the Merge Down button at the top right of the page to execute the kitchen merge.
  3. In the Merge Kitchen confirmation dialog, click the Merge Down button.
  4. When the merge completes, click an option in the success dialog. The typical next step is Merge Up.

Merge Child Kitchen Up

  1. Access the Merge Up page.
    • From the Kitchens page or in the green toolbar on any platform page, click the up arrow button associated with your child kitchen.
    • After a successful merge down, click the Merge Up button in the dialog.
  2. Click on a filename to view its content in the source child kitchen, its content in the target parent kitchen, and the preview of the merged file.
  3. Resolve each conflicted file.
    a. Click the arrow buttons to (>>) use the changes from the source child kitchen or (<<) retain the content in the target parent kitchen.
    b. Click the Done button in the Merge Preview pane.
    c. To revert any conflict resolution, use the Undo button before clicking Done or the Undo Resolve link after clicking Done.
  1. When you have resolved all conflicts or if there are no conflicts, click the Merge Up button to execute the kitchen merge.
  2. In the Promote Order Run dialog, check the checkboxes to select some or all order runs to copy to the parent kitchen if appropriate.
    A promoted order run includes its testing and timing details, which may be useful for benchmarking future performance.
  1. Check the checkbox at the bottom of the dialog if you want to combine started/stopped/resumed order runs.
    This option will take order runs in these partial states from a single order submission in the child kitchen and combine them sequentially as a single order run in the parent kitchen.
  2. In the Merge Kitchen confirmation dialog, you can instruct the system to delete your child kitchen when the merge completes.
    If you check this checkbox, another dialog displays for your confirmation as this step permanently removes your kitchen and all of its metadata.
  1. Click the Merge Up button.
  2. When the merge completes, click a navigation option in the success dialog.

Updated 26 days ago

Merge Kitchens


Suggested Edits are limited on API Reference Pages

You can only suggest edits to Markdown body content, but not to the API spec.